

## 2022 Annual Business Meeting

## AGENDA

4:00-4:45 pm EST, Friday, November 11, 2022

1.	Call to Order	Philip Bialer, MD, FACLP
2.	Establishment of Quorum	Paul Desan, MD, PhD, FACLP
3.	Minutes of Last Meeting [VOTE]	Philip Bialer, MD, FACLP
4.	President's Report	Philip Bialer, MD, FACLP
5.	Treasurer's Report	E. Sherwood Brown, MD, PhD, FACLP
6.	Secretary's Report	Paul Desan, MD, PhD, FACLP
7.	Membership Report	Terry Rabinowitz, MD, DDS, FACLP
8.	Journal Editor's Report	Hochang Lee, MD, FACLP
9.	Nominating Committee Report [VOTE]	Maria Tiamson-Kassab, MD, FACLP

The following slate of candidates for officers and directors has been filed by the Nominating Committee and will be voted on by the membership in attendance:

President-elect:	Madeleine Becker, MD, FACLP
Vice President:	E. Sherwood Brown, MD, PhD, FACLP
Treasurer:	Paul Desan, MD, PhD, FACLP
Secretary:	Thomas Heinrich, MD, FACLP
Board Directors:	Amy Bauer, MD, FACLP (second 3-year term)
	Leo Pozuelo, MD, FACLP (first 3-year term)
	Kewchang Lee, MD, FACLP (to fill unfinished term of 1 year vacated by Dr. Heinrich)

- 10. Old Business
- 11. New Business
- 12. Handing over of Gavel

Philip Bialer, MD, FACLP / Maryland Pao, MD, FACLP

13. Adjournment

Maryland Pao, MD, FACLP

## ACADEMY OF CONSULTATION-LIAISON PSYCHIATRY

## MINUTES 2021 ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING

Saturday, November 13, 2021, 11:00–11:45 AM EST

- Call to Order/Establishment of Quorum: Dr. Tiamson-Kassab, president, called the meeting to order at 11:00 AM Eastern Standard Time and announced the establishment of a quorum for the conduct of business: As of the date of the meeting, the Academy has a total of 1480 voting members, thereby requiring 148 to establish a quorum to conduct the business of the Academy. 263 proxies were received prior to the meeting; 5 were discarded as incomplete, leaving 258 valid proxy votes. Counting 47 members present and the completed proxy votes received, a quorum for the conduct of the organization's business was established.
- 2. **Minutes**: Dr. Tiamson-Kassab called for approval of the minutes of the November 2020 Annual Business Meeting. Combining 240 proxy votes previously submitted and 42 present voting in favor, the motion to approve the minutes passed. There were 17 abstentions and one voted against.
- 3. President's Report: Dr. Tiamson-Kassab reflected on the past year and thanked everyone for their support during her presidency. Noting the 1140+ registrations, she thanked Dr. Lisa J. Rosenthal, chair of the Annual Meeting Program Committee, and all the members of the committee and subcommittees for their excellent work making this year's meeting such a success through difficult circumstances.

Dr. Tiamson-Kassab reviewed progress of the board strategy plan, the ongoing impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Academy's formal comments submitted in response to public consultations issued by ABMS and ACGME, the MOC Subcommittee's development of a new PIP module, the launch of a new webinar series, and the updated mission and vision statements adopted by the Board, amongst many achievements in 2021.

Dr. Tiamson-Kassab concluded her remarks by thanking all ACLP volunteers and members for their support during a year of considerable adversity.

- 4. **Treasurer's Report**: Dr. Becker reported that the Academy is in good financial condition, with total net assets as of September 30 of \$2.8m. A clean report from independent auditors was received for financial year 2020.
- 5. Secretary's Report: Dr. Brown reviewed the following bylaw amendments:
  - The eligibility criteria for volunteer service on the Nominating Committee is modified so that only Fellows may be appointed to this committee.
  - Section 8.11 is modified to reflect a broader perspective.
  - Section 8.12 has been rewritten to reflect the Academy's new policy expanding the types of networking groups permitted.

Dr. Tiamson-Kassab called for a vote on the proposed bylaw amendments. Combining 237 proxy votes previously submitted and 35 present voting in favor, the motion to approve the bylaw amendments passed. There were 22 abstentions and three voting against.

Dr. Brown concluded his report by reminding members of the Governance section of the website that organized a range of internal documents for interested members.

- 6. **Membership Report**: Dr. Rabinowitz, chair of the Membership Committee, reported that the Academy now has 1840 members, a small decrease over 2020 at this same time.
- 7. **Editor's Report**: Dr. Hochang Lee, editor, reported on the journal's name change, the appointment of a new editorial team, a new online-only format, and broader scope that he is envisioning. On behalf of the Board and membership, Dr. Tiamson-Kassab thanked Dr. Lee for his contributions to the journal.
- 8. **Nominating Committee Report**: Dr. Sharpe, committee chair, presented the following slate of candidates for the election:

President-elect:	Maryland Pao, MD, FACLP
Vice President:	Madeleine Becker, MD, FACLP
Treasurer:	E. Sherwood Brown, MD, PhD, FACLP
Secretary:	Paul Desan, MD, PhD, FACLP
Board directors:	Ann Schwartz, MD, FACLP (second 3-year term)
	Terry Rabinowitz, MD, DDS, FACLP (second 3-year term)
	Lisa Rosenthal, MD, FACLP (first 3-year term)
	Chris Celano, MD, FACLP (first 3-year term

Dr. Tiamson-Kassab called for a vote on the slate of election candidates. Combining 244 proxy votes previously submitted and 42 present voting in favor, the motion to approve the slate of board election candidates passed. There were 13 abstentions and one voted against.

- 9. Old Business/New Business: Dr. Tiamson-Kassab reported that there was no old or new business to discuss.
- 10. **Transfer of the Gavel**: Dr. Tiamson-Kassab *virtually* presented a gavel to Dr. Bialer to mark his assumption of the office of president and wished him success in the role. Dr. Bialer reflected on the achievements and leadership of Dr. Tiamson-Kassab while in office and assured the members present that he would keep the positive momentum going.

Dr. Bialer adjourned the meeting at 11:45 AM EST.

Respectfully submitted,

E. Sherwood Brown, MD, PhD, FACLP Secretary