Eleanor and Thomas P. Hackett Memorial Award

Eligibility Criteria
How to Apply or Nominate

The Eleanor and Thomas P. Hackett Memorial Award is the Academy’s highest honor. It is presented to a member who has demonstrated distinctive achievements in C-L Psychiatry training, research, clinical practice, and leadership.

old photo of Thomas P. HackettDr. Hackett, from MGH Psychiatry History

The award was established in 1988 to honor Thomas P. Hackett, Jr., MD, FACLP, professor and chief of the Department of Psychiatry at Massachusetts General Hospital 1974-1988 and president of ACLP 1987-88. Dr. Hackett was a long-time leader in the field of C-L psychiatry. He died of a heart attack at age 59, two months after he took office as president of ACLP. The first Hackett award was presented in 1989 to Edwin H. Cassem, MD, FACLP, who also succeeded Dr. Hackett as chief of psychiatry at MGH, 1989-2000.

In 2009 the award was renamed to include Dr. Hackett’s wife, Eleanor, who passed away of leukemia in April 2009. “Ellie” had presented the award at the annual meeting almost every year since its inception. She received ACLP’s Special Recognition Award in 2003.

The recipient is invited to present a lecture at the Academy’s fall scientific meeting. The award consists of a $1,000 honorarium, reimbursement of travel and accommodation costs to attend the meeting, and complimentary meeting registration.

Eligibility Criteria

1. Be a full member of ACLP for the past 10 consecutive years.
2. Achievement of Fellow status within ACLP.

Active presentation AND active service at ACLP.

Examples of active presentation at ACLP include serving as a moderator, speaker, or discussant for a preconference course or general session; or serving as the lead presenting author for a poster or oral paper session.

Examples of active service to ACLP may include service on the Board of Directors, a committee, subcommittee, or taskforce, or service as a chair, co-chair, or vice chair of a special interest group.

4. Demonstration of significant contributions to advancing the field of consultation-liaison psychiatry.
5. Demonstration of excellence in each of the following four categories:

  • Education
  • Scholarship / Research
  • Clinical Excellence in consultation-liaison psychiatry
  • Leadership in consultation-liaison psychiatry within AND outside the ACLP
6. Three letters of recommendation (LORs) to attest to the excellence of the four categories as listed above; collectively, the LORs should support all four categories.
7. Commitment to give a lecture at the same annual meeting awarded.

Exceptions will be considered on a case-by-case basis. An exceptional candidate with extraordinary achievement that may not meet all requirements may be considered if deemed appropriate. Additionally, exceptional psychiatrists dedicated to the field of consultation-liaison psychiatry, and meeting all other fellowship criteria, but who are not eligible for ABPN certification in Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry, may be considered.

President Jim Rundell (left) presented the 2018 Hackett Award to José Maldonado (center). Dr. Maldonado was introduced by Dr. Theodore Stern (right).
Ellie Hackett in 2008 with 1989 and 2008 award winners
Eleanor Hackett at the 2008 Annual Meeting in Miami with the recipients of the last and first award she presented: to Theodore Stern (2008) and Edwin “Ned” Cassem (1989). Mrs. Hackett passed away the following April.

2023 Michael Sharpe, MA, MD, FACLP
2022 Catherine Crone, MD, FACLP
2021 James Bourgeois, MD, OD, FACLP
2020 J. Michael Bostwick, MD, FACLP
2019 Philip Muskin, MD, MA, DLFAPA, FACLP
2018 José Maldonado, MD, FACLP
2017 Gregory Fricchione, MD, FACLP
2016 Donald Rosenstein, MD, FACLP
2015 Mary Ann Cohen, MD, FACLP
2014 Lewis M. Cohen, MD, FACLP
2013 James L. Levenson, MD, FACLP
2012 James R. Rundell, MD, FACLP
2011 William S. Breitbart, MD, FACLP
2010 Donna E. Stewart, MD, FACLP
2009 Francis Creed, MD, FRCP, FRCPsych
2008 Theodore A. Stern, MD, FACLP
2007 Frederik J. Huyse, MD, PhD, FACLP
2006 Russell Noyes, Jr., MD, FACLP
2005 Richard Mayou, MD
2004 Joel E. Dimsdale, MD
2003 Wayne J. Katon, MD, FACLP
2002 James J. Strain, MD, FACLP
2001 Michael K. Popkin, MD, FACLP
2000 Don R. Lipsitt, MD
1999 Thomas N. Wise, MD, FACLP
1998 James S. Eaton, Jr., MD, FACLP
1997 Alan Stoudemire , MD , FACLP
1996 George B. Murray, MD, FACLP
1995 Donald S. Kornfeld, MD, FACLP
1994 Jimmie C. Holland , MD, FACLP
1993 Norman B. Levy, MD, FACLP
1992 Avery D. Weisman, MD
1991 Zbigniew J. Lipowski, MD
1990 W. Alwyn Lishman, MD, DSc
1989 Edwin H. Cassem, MD, FACLP

How to Apply or Nominate for the Hackett Award

Nominations for the Hackett Award are made only via the online Hackett Award Nomination Form. The nominee’s CV must be attached, as well as the three (3) letters of recommendation.

Optionally, up to five (5) additional files of supporting materials may be attached, such as copies of title pages or table of contents for journal articles, title pages for books, letters of appointment for society and administrative offices, text of published posters, or other similar published materials.

The nomination form with all required attachments must be submitted by April 30 to be considered for the award.