William Webb Fellowship Program

How to Apply

The Webb Fellowship Program is designed to support a select number of outstanding advanced residents and fellows in C-L psychiatry at an early stage in their career.

William Logan Webb, Jr., MD
Dr. Webb, from Psychosomatics obituary

The program is named for William Logan Webb, Jr., MD, FACLP, president of the Academy 1986-87. Dr. Webb had an impressive career in C-L psychiatry and was among the early strong advocates of its subspecialty designation. He was involved in the study of pain, became an international authority in psychiatric ethics, was a highly respected teacher, and participated in symposia concerning coping mechanisms in sick physicians. When terminally ill in New York City, he eagerly became an interviewee for medical students. In 1991, Dr. Webb was awarded the Distinguished Service Medal of the American College of Psychiatrists.

Dr. Webb passed away in December 1992 at age 62. For more information about his career and impact on ACLP, please see Dr. Webb’s obituary [PDF] in the May 1993 issue of Psychosomatics, authored by M.J. Martin, MD, FACLP, president of the Academy 1973-74.

Purpose of the Webb Fellowship Program

The Academy of Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry created the William Webb Fellowship Program to foster the career development and leadership potential of advanced psychiatry residents and C-L Psychiatry medical fellows via:

  1. Mentorship. Each Fellow will have two designated mentors: one from their sponsoring institution and one from the ACLP.
  2. Networking. Each Fellow will be provided structured and supervised involvement in ACLP.
  3. Sustained involvement. Each Fellow will be substantively involved in significant ongoing ACLP projects.
  4. Affirmation and consolidation of professional identity. Each Fellow will experience collegial interactions via ACLP and through exclusive Webb Fellowship educational experiences.

As leading C-L psychiatrists of the future, Webb Fellows will be especially well positioned to play key roles in educating non-psychiatric physicians who treat patients with psychiatric disorders.

The Webb Fellowship Experience


Webb Fellowships are one-year appointments. Each Fellow will have a designated ACLP mentor in addition to their institutional mentor. The institutional mentors will typically be C-L faculty psychiatrists at the Fellows’ home institutions. The ACLP mentors will be senior established members of the Academy.

Annual Meeting Attendance

Fellows will be expected to attend the annual meeting of the ACLP at the beginning and at the end of their year as a Webb Fellow. They will participate in a variety of activities, including:

Financial Support

(Left to right) E. Sherwood Brown, MD, PhD, FACLP, award presenter; 2018-19 Webb Fellows Drs. Brandon Hamm, Luis Pereira, Rebekah Nash, Erica Baller. (Not pictured: Drs. Juliet Edgcomb, Daniel Shalev)
Marissa Beal, DO
Fiona Fonseca, MBBChBAO, MD, MS
Diego Garces Grosse, MD
Zachary Mathias Harvanek, MD, PhD
George Sayde, MD, MPH
Timothy Wong, DO
2021-22 Andrew Drysdale, MD
Amanda Mihalik-Wenger, MD
Charles Masaki, MD, PhD
Molly Howland, MD
Artin Mahdanian, MD
Christian Bjerre Real, MD
2020-21 Shixie Jiang, MD
Gustavo Medeiros, MD
Maria Prom, MD
Jordan Rosen, MD
Adrienne Taylor, MD
Samantha Zweibel, MA, MD
2019-20 David Fipps, DO
Elizabeth Madva, MD
Shannon Mazur, DO, MA
Laura Suarez Pardo, MD
Christian Umfrid, MD
Jeffrey Zabinski, MD, MSSA, MA
2018-19 Erica Baller, MD, MS
Juliet Edgcomb, MD PhD
Brandon Hamm, MD, MS
Rebekah Nash, MD, PhD
Luis Pereira, MD, MS
Daniel Shalev, MD
2017-18 Hermioni Lokko, MD, MPP
Michael Maksimowski, MD
Cristina Montalvo, MD, MBS
Zev Nakamura, MD
Diana Robinson, MD
Joan Roig Llesuy, MD
2016-17 Katherine Blackwell, MD
Mario Caro, MD
Deanna Chaukos, MD
Jennifer Erickson, DO
Neeta Shenai, MD
Nathaniel Sowa, MD
2015-16 Amritha Bhat, MD
Julia Knight, MD
Thomas McCoy, MD
Andrew Siegel, MD
2014-15 Marra Ackerman, MD
Elie Isenberg-Grzeda, MD, FRCPC
David Kroll, MD
Kathleen Sheehan, MD, PhD
2013-14 Joseph Cerimele, MD
Jennifer Gatchel, MD
Jennifer Kruse, MD
Eric Meyer, MD
2012-13 Shane M. Coleman, MD
Anna L. Dickerman, MD
Sheryl B. Fleisch, MD
Yelizaveta Sher, MD
2011-12 Joan A. Camprodon, MD
Christopher Celano, MD
Eliza (Leeza) M. Park, MD
Felicia K. Wong, MD
2010-11 Scott R. Beach, MD
Lex Denysenko, MD
Laura Kent, MD
Marlynn H. Wei, MD, JD
2009-10 Anne Gross, MD
Jennifer M. Knight, MD
Robert L. Oldham, MD
Kristen J. Somers, MD
2008-09 Christopher Kogut, MD, MSW
Gen Shinozaki, MD
Adrienne Tan, MD, FRCP(C)
Joseph Rasimas, MD, PhD
2007-08 Lucy Epstein, MD
James F. Hammel, MD, MA, MSc (Oxon)
Glendon R Tait, MD, MSc
Christopher White, MD, JD, FCLM
Anna Yusim, MD.
2006-07 Mark V. Bradley, MD
Jason P. Caplan, MD
Stephen E. Nicolson, MD
Sanjeev Sockalingam, MD
2005-06 Ilana M. Braun, MD
Muhamad Aly Rifai, MD
2004-05 Felicia A. Smith, MD
David A. Straker, DO
2003-04 David B. Bekelman, MD, MPH
Rebecca W. Brendel, MD, JD
2002-03 Cynthia M. A. Geppert, MD, PhD
Jeff C. Huffman, MD
2001-02 Donna T. Chen, MD, MPH
Scott C. Matthews, MD
Olivia I. Okereke, MD
Ajay D. Wasan, MD
2000-01 Andrew J. Elliott, MD
David A. Fedoronko, MD
Catherine Lager, MD
Richard W. Malis, MD
1999-2000 C. Michael Collins, MD, PhD
Bezalel Dantz, MD
Oliver Freudenreich, MD
Karl J. Looper, MD
1998-99 Lydia Chwastiak, MD
Paul Ciechanowski, MD
Linda Mah, MD
Ati Yates, MD
1997-98 June Cai, MD
Melissa Frumin, MD
Michael S. Jaffee, MD
Judith S. Kastenberg, MD
Ruta M. Nonacs, MD, PhD
1996-97 David B. Arciniegas, MD
Caroline P. Carney-Doebbeling, MD
L. Lee Tynes, MD, PhD
Bernard Vaccaro, MD
1995-96 Terry B. Chisholm, MD
Megan M. Dwight, MD
Isabel T. Lagomasino, MD
Jürgen Unützer, MD
1994-95 Dara A. Charney, MD
Donald L. Rosenstein, MD
Kurt D. Ackerman, MD, PhD
Jesse R. Fann, MD, MPH
Daniel C. Mierlak, MD, PhD

How to Apply for the Webb Fellowship Program

The Academy of Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry welcomes your application to the William Webb Fellowship Program. To be considered, you must:

  • Be an advanced psychiatry resident (PGY-3 and later) or C-L Psychiatry fellow. Psychiatrists who have recently (within one year) completed fellowship training in CLP may also apply.
  • Submit the online William Webb Fellowship Application, which includes questions for your major areas of interest, your plans and goals, how the fellowship will enhance your career development, what support your home institution will provide, and the name of your proposed institution mentor. You must attach your CV.

Annual deadline for application is July 1.

Sponsoring institutions may nominate more than one applicant, but only one applicant can be selected from an institution.