Annual Members' Business Meeting 2019

Annual Members’ Business Meeting 2019

This year’s Annual Members’ Business Meeting is scheduled for Friday, November 15, 2019, from 5:45 to 6:30 pm at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, San Diego, California.

Agenda items included the election of officers and board directors, amendments to the Academy’s bylaws, an update from the journal editor, and various committee reports.

Download the minutes (draft) of the 2018 business meeting [PDF].

Bylaw Amendments

Amendments this year include:

There are minor changes to harmonize language related to membership nomenclature and to remove duplicate text related to the president’s status as committee ex officio and role in the committee appointments process.

The Bylaws Subcommittee of the Governance Committee, the full Governance Committee, and ACLP Board of Directors have reviewed and approved these amendments.

Download the detailed bylaw amendments with commentary on the changes [PDF].

Election of Officers and Board Directors:

President-elect Michael Sharpe, MD, FACLP, will receive the president’s gavel from current president Rebecca Weintraub Brendel, MD, JD, FACLP.

The Nominating Committee (Drs. Sharpe [chair], Ganzini, Heinrich, Rummans, and Rundell) respectfully submits the following slate of officers and directors for consideration at the Annual Members’ Business Meeting:


President-elect: Maria Tiamson-Kassab, MD, FACLP

Vice President: Philip Bialer, MD, FACLP

Treasurer: Maryland Pao, MD, FACLP

Secretary: Madeleine Becker, MD, FACLP

Board Directors:

E. Sherwood Brown, MD, PhD, FACLP; first 3-year term

Amy Bauer, MD, FACLP; first 3-year term

James Bourgeois, OD, MD, FACLP; to fill unfinished term of 2-years vacated by Dr. Becker