Annual Members’ Business Meeting 2023

Annual Members’ Business Meeting 2023

This year’s Annual Members’ Business Meeting is scheduled for 3:45-4:30 pm CST, Friday, November 10 at the JW Marriott, Austin, Texas.

Agenda items include the election of officers and board directors, amendments to the Academy’s bylaws (when applicable), an update from the journal editor, and various committee reports. Download the business meeting materials, as of October 11th [PDF]. Further items may be added to the meeting materials closer to the meeting and can be downloaded from this page. The slide deck for the meeting will be posted to this page on or about November 8th.

While the meeting will be live-streamed for those unable to attend, the conduct of business, and specifically voting, will be undertaken only by those physically present. Please complete your proxy vote if you wish to full participate in voting at the meeting.

Bylaw Amendments

There are no bylaw amendments proposed this year.

Election of Officers and Board Directors:

President-elect Madeleine Becker, MD, FACLP, will receive the president’s gavel from current president Maryland Pao, MD, FACLP.

The Nominating Committee (Drs. Philip Bialer (chair), Madeleine Becker, Cathy Crone, Mary Jo Fitz-Gerald, Eliza Park, Divy Ravindranath, Tom Wise, and Maria Tiamson-Kassab) respectfully submits the following slate of officers and directors for consideration at the Annual Members’ Business Meeting:


President-elect: E. Sherwood Brown, MD, PhD, FACLP

Vice President: Paul Desan, MD, PhD, FACLP

Treasurer: Thomas Heinrich, MD, FACLP

Secretary: Ann Schwartz, MD, FACLP

Board Directors:

Brian Bronson, MD, FACLP (first 3-year term)

Kewchang Lee, MD, FACLP (first 3-year term)

Proxy Voting

Proxy voting for the Annual Members’ Business Meeting will be issued via email to all voting-eligible Academy members no later than October 11th. There is no requirement to complete proxy voting if you plan to attend the meeting to vote in person.