ACLP Announces 2019 Hackett Award Winner

The 2019 Eleanor and Thomas P. Hackett Memorial Award—the most prestigious honor bestowed upon an Academy member—has been awarded to Philip Muskin, MD, MA, DLFAPA, FACLP.

Dr. Muskin has received many academic awards, including Outstanding Teacher of the Year at the New York State Psychiatric Institute on three separate occasions; the Association for Academic Psychiatry Lifetime Achievement Award; the Society for Liaison Psychiatry Award for outstanding contributions to the field of Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry; and the American Psychiatric Association’s Irma Bland Award for Residency Teaching.

Dr. Muskin is a distinguished life fellow of the APA as well as an ACLP fellow and a distinguished life fellow of the Association for Academic Psychiatry. He is a past-president of the Association for Academic Psychiatry and the Society for Liaison Psychiatry.

The Hackett Award is the highest ACLP honor presented to an individual for outstanding achievement in C-L Psychiatry. The award was established in 1988 to honor Thomas P. Hackett, Jr., MD, FACLP, professor and chief of the Department of Psychiatry at Massachusetts General Hospital, 1974-1988, and president of ACLP 1987-88. Dr. Hackett was a long-time leader in the field of C-L Psychiatry.

Dr. Muskin will be presented with the award at CLP 2019 in San Diego in November where he will give the traditional Hackett lecture. His presentation is titled A History of Caring Collaboration.

Return to news archive