APA Council on Psychosomatic Medicine

APM has re-appointed Catherine Crone, MD, FAPM, as a consultant to the American Psychiatric Association (APA) Council on Psychosomatic Medicine. Dr. Crone, who served as 2014-15 APM President, is an Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at George Washington University School of Medicine & Health Sciences, where she also directs the Psychosomatic Medicine Fellowship program, and a member of Inova Fairfax Hospital Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences.

APA created its Council on Psychosomatic Medicine several years ago. “That they did so shows the organization is interested in our subspecialty and in our mission,” said Dr. Boland.

In her role as consultant, Dr. Crone serves as a liaison between the two groups, making sure that the Council is aware of APM issues and bringing back to us what is going on at the APA.

“APA is seen as the primary voice for psychiatry, particularly in the political arena,” said Dr. Boland. “There is a real spirit of collaboration between our two organizations, with us working on several joint ventures and position papers. The more we can be involved with APA in this nature, the better for APM and our specialty.”

APM is well represented on the APA Council on Psychosomatic Medicine. Its Chair, David Gitlin, MD, and Vice Chair, Linda Worley, MD, FAMP, are both Past Presidents of APM. Other APM members on the council are: Philip Aaron Bialer, MD, FAPM; Robert Boland, MD, FAPM; James Bourgeois, OD, MD, FAPM; Margo Funk, MD; Jon Levenson, MD, FAPM; Sara Nash, MD; James Rundell, MD, FAPM; Sejal Shah, MD; and Sanjeev Sockalingam, MD, FRCPC, FAPM.

Return to news archive