Wayne Katon Research Award

How to Apply or Nominate

The Wayne Katon Research Award honors an individual currently studying psychopathology in the medically ill and is intended to recognize a currently active researcher in the field. The recipient will be asked to give a lecture in person at the Academy’s fall scientific meeting. The award will cover the recipient’s costs to attend the meeting and an additional unrestricted monetary award.

Wayne Katon, in 2010

At the Academy’s 2015 scientific meeting, the former APM Research Award was renamed in the spirit and memory of Wayne J. Katon, MD, FACLP, a dedicated clinical researcher and pioneer in collaborative care who passed away March 1, 2015. Dr. Katon received the Academy’s highest honor, the Eleanor and Thomas P. Hackett Memorial Award, in 2003 and was president of APM 2012-2013. For more information about Dr. Katon’s notable career and contributions, see the In Memoriam by Dimitry S. Davydow, MD, FACLP, and Jürgen Unützer, MD, in the May-June 2015 issue of General Hospital Psychiatry, of which Dr. Katon was editor-in-chief.

Ian Kronish giving his Katon award lecture, 2018
Ian Kronish, MD, presenting his 2018 Katon award lecture, “Is It Time to Start Screening for PTSD in Survivors of Acute Cardiovascular Events?”
2023 Gen Shinozaki, MD, FACLP
2022 Judith Rosmalen, PhD
2021 Sir Simon Wessely, MSc, MD, FRCP, FRCPsych
2020 Bernd Löwe, MD
2019 Jeffrey Staab, MD, MS, FACLP
2018 Ian Kronish, MD, MPH
2017 Robert Carney, MD, FACP, FACC
2016 Matthew Hotopf, MRCPsych, PhD
2015 Kimberly Yonkers, MD
2014 Jesse R. Fann, MD, MPH, FACLP
2013 Brett Thombs, PhD
2012 Scott Kim, MD, PhD
2011 Andrea F. DiMartini, MD, FACLP
2010 Bruce L. Rollman, MD, MPH
2009 Jürgen Unützer, MD, MPH
2008 Kurt Kroenke, MD
2007 François Lespérance, MD
2006 Mary Amanda Dew, PhD
2005 Linda Ganzini, MD, MPH, FACLP
2004 Harvey M. Chochinov, MD, PhD, FRCP(C), FACLP
2003 William S. Breitbart, MD, FACLP
2002 Constantine G. Lyketsos, MD, FACLP
2001 Michael C. Sharpe, MD, FACLP
2000 Thomas P. Beresford, MD, FACLP
1999 Robert G. Robinson, MD, FACLP
1998 James L. Levenson, MD, FACLP
1997 Paula T. Trzepacz, MD, FACLP
1996 David R. Rubinow, MD
1995 Joel E. Dimsdale, MD
1994 Roger G. Kathol, MD, FACLP
1993 Wayne J. Katon, MD, FACLP

How to Apply or Nominate for the Katon Research Award

Criteria for the Award. The nominee should be an active researcher in C-L psychiatry but does not need to be a psychiatrist. The scientific work of the nominee should be predominantly clinically focused. The award is not a lifetime achievement award and contributions to ACLP are not a factor in the selection of the recipient. An individual may receive this award only once.

Grading of Candidates. The ACLP Research Subcommittee reviews the submissions and grades the candidates on the following:

  • Original research papers published, particularly as first/last author, in high-impact, peer-reviewed journals.
  • Being the principal investigator on grants, with federal grants receiving the most weight.
  • Importance of research contributions to the field of consultation-liaison psychiatry.
  • Mentorship of junior investigators in C-L psychiatry.
  • Effective dissemination of research findings to change policy or practice.

To apply or recommend an individual for the Research Award, fill out and submit online the Research Award Nomination Form by April 30.